*New* 2017 Victorian Open

The 2017 Victorian Open was staged at Rosebud Country Club(RCC) on March 16/17. Yet again Blind Golf Victoria(BGV) acknowledges the tremendous support of RCC and its members in making this a successful tournament. BGV was delighted with the entry of 20 players from all Australian mainland states.

The winner was Brian Gear Victoria and his caddy Garrett Sloan with a great score of 81 points. This has resulted in Brian achieving his lowest ever handicap - and shows the benefit of regular practice. Runner up was Jeff Ellis Victoria and his caddy Maureen Ellis with a very good score of 73 points .David Blyth Victoria with caddy Gary McInnes won the B1 ( totally blind) event with 66 points , Graham Coulton and his caddy Sue Carpenter won the B2 event with 70 points and Rod Mills and his caddies Sandra Saunders and Cliff Richards from RCC won the B3 event with 59 points

Full details are available under Results.

*New* Order of Merit

The 2016/17 BGA Order of Merit has been updated after the 2017 BGV Victorian Open - full details are on the website. David Wheatley ( Vic ) still leads from Stephen Mitchell (NSW) , Rod Mills (NSW) , and David Blyth (Vic).

*New* Rules Modernisation

The R&A and the USGA have been going through a process to "modernise" the Rules of Golf . They have developed a proposal which changes 20 of the current rules in an effort to make them easier to understand - and to speed up the game of golf . The new rules if adopted will apply from 1 January 2019. The R&A have asked for comments on their proposals from all golf clubs and individual golfers . The BGA Board will consider the changes in detail and respond on behalf of all Australian blind and vision impaired golfers in due course-but initial impressions are that the BGA Board will support the proposals. To learn more about the proposed rule changes please go to www.golf.com.au/modernisation

2017 Calendars for WA and NSW Events

The calendar of WA and NSW Events has been updated - see WA Coming Events and NSW Coming Events.

2017 Calendar of National and International Events

The calendar of National and International Events has been updated - see Coming Events. BGNSW are to be congratulated on securing Royal Sydney Golf Club as the venue for the 2017 ISPS HANDA Australian Open - BGA is hoping that such a prestigious venue will attract more overseas competitors.

David Blyth Life Member IBGA

BGA is delighted to advise that David Blyth was appointed a Life Member of the International Blind Golf Association (IBGA) at the IBGA Biennial Meeting in Japan in early November . David is only the third person to be bestowed with IBGA life membership since its inception. Both Mr Hiromi Fujimoto ( Dec.) from Japan and Mr Howard Lange from Australia were bestowed with life membership in 2008 when Dr Handa was bestowed as Honorary Life President.

David was a founding member of Blind Golf Victoria in 1988 and was elected as President in 1991 - a position he held until 2000. He was the inaugural President of BGA when it was formed in 1991 - a position he held until 2011. David was chair of the interim committee set up in 1997 to formulate the constitution for IBGA which commenced in 1998. In 2000 he was appointed to the Board of IBGA as Secretary /Treasurer and he became President of IBGA in 2004 - a position he held until 2012.

David has been a tireless worker for Blind Golf worldwide for almost 30 years. He is still a regular and very keen participant in blind golf events and like good wine is getting better with age as evidenced by his selection in Australia's team for the recent IBGA World Championships.

BGA 2016/17 Order of Merit

BGA conducts an order of merit over a 2 year period based on the results of the 6 major events played each year. Points are awarded for performance, attendance and interstate travel. The Order of Merit is used to determine Australia's places in the biennial World Championships and a medallion will be awarded to the winner of the 2016/17 OOM. At the halfway mark the top 5 in the OOM are David Wheatley, Stephen Mitchell, Rod Mills, David Blyth and Doug Sloan.

A complete list of all players and points to date can be found under "Order of Merit" on this website.